The Department of Zoology is one of the oldest departments of the college and was established in the year 1953, as a department for supporting the PDC course. Prof. MI Thomas was the first faculty appointed at the Department. The B.Sc Zoology degree programme was introduced in the year 1953 and the M.Sc programme in 1962. The Zoology Department was affiliated as a Research Department when Prof (Dr) AP Mathew, an expert in scorpion physiology was appointed as Research Director(1958- 67). During his time the world famous ornithologist Dr Salim Ali visited the Department.


From 1967-76 eminent Parasitologist Dr Antony Nadackal was appointed as the Head of the Department and as Research Director. Dr Antony Nadackal brought a Mega Project PL 480 to the Department, through which the Department obtained many research facilities and doctorates. The first PhD produced from the Research Department of Zoology was in 1975 by Dr KO John under the guidance of Prof. Antony Nadackal. In 1984 the Department was re-registered as a Research Department in the University of Kerala. Department has produced 17 doctorates and around 250 research papers in reputed journals.


The Zoology Department has a CPCSEA sanctioned registered Animal House (No. 1396/a/10/CPCSEA) and an Institutional Animal Ethical Committee (IAEC) for conducting animal experiments. Instrumental facilities of the Department are supported by DST- FIST, UGC CPE and DBT. The Department has a Molecular Biology Lab, a Microbiology Lab and an Animal Cell Culture Lab.From 2012 onwards Department of Zoology is coordinating the DBT-STAR College scheme for facilitating Under Graduate students in advanced techniques in Biological science. Participants under this scheme are the Departments of Zoology, Botany and Biotechnology. Currently the Department Research Centre has 12 scholars working towards their doctoral degrees.


Zoology is offered as a complementary subject to the students of the Department of Botany by the Zoology Department. The Department offers Human Health and Sex Education as an interdisciplinary Open Course to the students of other departments of the college. The Department also offers an Add-on-Course in Fresh Water Aquarium Maintenance and Management and training programmes in Vermicomposting and Apiculture.

Prof. KP Sebastian (HoD), Prof (Dr) KO John, Prof (Dr).Eugene Mary, Prof. Sophy Joseph (HoD), Prof. Ninan Thomas, Prof. Lalitha Thomas (HoD), Prof. Baby , Dr.Thomas Panickar, Prof (Dr).PV George (HoD), Prof (Dr).MV John, Prof. K Skaria, Prof. CT Varghese, Prof. Varghese Cherian (HoD), Prof (Dr). Cicilykutty AK, Prof (Dr).Vijayakumaran Nair K, Prof. TV George (HoD) Prof (Dr). VS Josekumar Dr. Sunny Augustian and Dr. Rekha Yesudas are eminent faculty who served the Department in its progress.


There are 8 permanent faculty member in the Department of whom four have doctorates. The others are working towards their PhD. Members of the Department function regularly in the Boards of Studies at both UG and PG levels.


Dr Leenamma Joseph, Associate Professor is the present Head of the Department.

Our Contacts

Bethany Hills, Nalanchira P.O,Thiruvanathapuram - 695015 Kerala, India.


+91-471 2531053, 2530023

Social Media

Route Map