The Department of Chemistry was established in 1957. The Chemistry Post Graduate course was started in 1964. A Research Centre in Chemistry was established in the College in 1976, with a view to promote research interests, both among the students and the teachers of the Department. Currently the Department offers Under-Graduate courses, Post- Graduate courses and research programmes. The Department is an approved research center for Chemistry under the University of Kerala. Chemistry is offered as a Complementary paper to the Under Graduate students of Physics, Botany and Zoology by the Department.


From its inception, the Department has striven to set high standards of teaching and learning. The galaxy of eminent alumni bears ample testimony to the Department\'s excellence as a result of the hard work and dedication of a team of committed faculty members, guided by able administrators. The Department is a DST-FIST supported department. The golden jubilee of the PG Department of Chemistry was celebrated in the academic year 2015-16. The department has produced several nationally and internationally renowned scientists and professors who are holding positions of high esteem.


The Research Department is engaged in active research and conducts various research activities in the fields of solid state kinetics, biomaterials, electrochemistry, phytochemistry, pharmaceutical chemistry, synthetic organic chemistry and materials chemistry. The Department has 10 Faculty Members, out of whom 5 are research guides. The Department has several major and minor projects from various government agencies like the UGC, DST and CSIR. The Department provides consultancy services to IGNOU and undertakes projects from various industries.

Ms. Suma P. Oommen is the current head of the Department.

Our Contacts

Bethany Hills, Nalanchira P.O,Thiruvanathapuram - 695015 Kerala, India.


+91-471 2531053, 2530023

Social Media

Route Map